Visa policy of Russia

The visa policy of Russia deals with the requirements which a foreign national wishing to enter the Russian Federation must meet to obtain a visa, which is a permit to travel to, enter, and remain in the country. Visa exemptions are based on bilateral or multilateral agreements. Russia has agreements with scores of countries whose citizens are either exempt from visas or can apply for a visa online (e-visa). Citizens of countries without such an agreement with Russia must obtain a visa in advance from a Russian diplomatic mission or visa centre.

Visa exemption

  Red – Russia including Crimea
  Blue – Freedom of movement
  Green – Visa waiver countries and territories
  Grey – Visa required for entry to Russia

Unlimited period

90 days

Non-commercial purposes

60 days for non-commercial purposes

30 days for non-commercial purposes

30 days for holders a letter of guarantee/invitation and a tourist voucher

14 days for non-commercial purposes

ID – May enter with a national ID card
ID(KZ) – May enter with a national ID card if arriving from Kazakhstan
1 – 90 days within any year period
2 – 30 days within any 60-day period

  1. ^ limited recognition state.
  2. ^ On 18 February 2017 the President of Russia has signed the decree “About Recognition of the Documents Issued to the Citizens of Ukraine and Persons Without Citizenship Living in Territories of Certain Districts of the Donetsk and Luhansk Regions of Ukraine”. Holders of passports of  Donetsk People’s Republic and  Luhansk People’s Republic can carry out entry into the Russian Federation and departure from the Russian Federation without execution of visas. The decree is applied temporarily, for the period before political settlement of a situation in certain districts of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine on the basis of the Minsk Agreement.[14]
  3. ^ From 29 December 2018 citizens of Ukraine who residents of the territories of certain districts of Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine can visit visa free for 180 days.[15]
  4. ^ Persons holding a Macau Special Administrative Region passport.
  5. ^ Persons holding a Hong Kong Special Administrative Region passport.

Ordinary passports

Travelers who are nationals of the following 60 nations are not required to obtain a visa prior to visit Russia as long as the length of their trip is within the visa waiver limit listed below.

From 2014, citizens of these countries—except for citizens of Belarus and South Ossetia, who have the right to unlimited visa-free entry to Russia—must not stay longer than 90 days within any 180-day period. Resetting the allowed period by leaving and re-entering the country is no longer allowed. Overstaying up to 180 days is punishable by a three-year entry ban, 180–270 days by a five-year entry ban, and over 270 days by a ten-year entry ban.


Leave a Comment